No Heel High Heels

Today’s heels are barely able to be called ‘high heels’.  They may be high but they don’t actually have heels.

I was intrigued by this style of shoe when they first came to market about three, or so, years ago.  It took me a while to get a pair but these were an impulse buy – it was my birthday, we were in the Kurt Geiger outlet shop, they were sitting there looking all shiny and pretty…P1000430 P1000432
I wasn’t sure so I decided to try them on.  To look at them they look bizarre, to wear them they feel like completely normal shoes.  The only time you have to watch your footing is on stairs as you don’t have quite the ground coverage that you might expect!

I love the colour of these (rose gold, in case the picture is distorted).  They are easy to wear, feminine and comfortable.  They also attract a few double takes and comments of ‘how do you walk in those?’ (a common question I’m asked!)

Amazon have got some pretty court style heel less shoes at the moment:-
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Show-Story-Curved-Heels-LF30204LB39/dp/B00J4OMQY6/ref=sr_1_24?ie=UTF8&qid=1463748800&sr=8-24&keywords=heel+less
I would definitely give these a try.  There are also some available on eBay from both shops and individuals.

If you’re concerned about being able to walk in them I wouldn’t worry about that.  If you can walk in heels then you will probably be ok in these.  Do what I do; clump around in them in the house to get a good feel for them!  My husband always looks suspiciously at my feet when I’m making a ‘shoe noise’ in the house and not wearing my normal flip flop slippers!  At least I don’t try and hide my purchases!

Do you remember I fell in love with a pair of Ruby Shoos from TK Maxx (https://emmaonshoes.wordpress.com/2016/05/12/screen-shopping-for-shoes/) I must admit that I did buy them in the end.  I’ll fill you in soon!

P.S. I have just come back from a cruise (first one and haven’t have a holiday for seven years so it was well deserved) and wore these a couple of times.  They are really good when it’s rough, nice and stable.  Also they turn a lot of heads, get a lot of double takes and you can hear people “whispering” about them!  I will tell you more about the 13 pairs of shoes I took and the beautiful pairs I purchased from Portugal.

 

2 thoughts on “No Heel High Heels

Leave a Reply

